SQE1 preparation in 2026/27 costs from nothing to £7,100, on top of the SRA's £2,006 exam fee. We read the public price pages of 23 providers, and our own, on 21 October 2026 and re-checked the ten most prominent on 22 October. Full courses cost £1,990 to £7,100, one-off question banks from £19.99, and monthly plans £25 to £279 a month.
SQEase publishes this page, and our own prices are included and marked, on the same terms as everyone else. Nothing here is a ranking or a recommendation: it is what each provider publishes, with a link to the page and the date we read it.
What SQE1 costs in total
The total is the SRA's exam fee plus whatever preparation you buy, and the exam fee is the larger part for most routes. Using only the SRA's free material, SQE1 costs £2,006. With the cheapest one-off question bank it is about £2,026, and with a full taught course it is £3,996 to £9,106. The table is our arithmetic from the published prices below; it is not a survey of what candidates actually spend.
| Route | Prep cost | Total with exam fee |
|---|---|---|
| Free material only (SRA samples, free tiers) | £0 | £2,006 |
| Cheapest one-off question bank (30 days) | £19.99 | £2,025.99 |
| Three months of a monthly plan | £75 to £837 | £2,081 to £2,843 |
| Full SQE1 course | £1,990 to £7,100 | £3,996 to £9,106 |
A resit adds to every route: the SRA charges £1,003 to resit one paper and £2,006 to resit both.
The SRA exam fee: £2,006
The SRA charges £2,006 for SQE1 for assessments from September 2026 onwards: £1,003 for FLK1 and £1,003 for FLK2. It was £1,934 before. The SRA's fees page says all SQE fees are VAT exempt, and that you must book both papers at the same sitting and pay for them in one payment. The SRA's April 2026 update says the new fee applies to candidates who book from October 2026, which covers the January 2027 sitting.
No preparation product below includes the exam fee. Every provider that mentions it says it is paid separately, to the SRA. If you need to resit, the fee is £1,003 for one paper or £2,006 for both.
Full SQE1 courses: £1,990 to £7,100
Taught or structured SQE1 courses range from £1,990 (QLTS School Basic) to £7,100 (BPP's course in London), before the exam fee. University courses cost more in London than elsewhere, and BPP is the only course provider here whose page says its price includes VAT.
| Provider | Product | Price | Billing and access (as stated) | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| QLTS School | SQE1 Basic / Advantage / Premium | £1,990 / £2,490 / £2,990 | One payment, or three instalments plus a £90 admin fee; next two consecutive sittings or until you pass | 22 Oct |
| College of Legal Practice | Solicitors Legal Knowledge (SQE1 preparation) | £2,200 | £150 deposit, then two instalments; Law Drills access sold separately | 22 Oct |
| Law Training Centre | Exam-Track / Flexi-Learn | £2,700 / £2,900 | One payment or instalments; includes VAT for self-funders | 21 Oct |
| BARBRI | SQE1 Prep: Accelerated (10 weeks) / Focused (20) / Flexible (40) | from £2,999 / £2,999 / £3,299 | One payment, or a plan with a £149 finance fee | 22 Oct |
| BPP | SQE1 Preparation, Self Study | £4,300 | 18 months' access; includes VAT | 22 Oct |
| University of Law | SQE1 Preparation Course | £5,250 outside London / £6,650 London | 2026/27 fees; one payment or monthly instalments; 2027/28: £5,450 / £6,900 | 22 Oct |
| BPP | SQE1 Preparation Course | £5,900 online and regional / £7,100 London | £350 deposit; four months full-time or 9 to 10 months part-time; includes VAT | 22 Oct |
Two shorter options sit below this range: the University of Law's online SQE1 Exam Preparation Course, from £650, and Barex's Guided Plan, £1,500 one-off for its platform plus 20 hours of one-to-one coaching through your second sitting. SUPERexam did not publish a full-course price on the page we read.
Question banks you pay for once: £19.99 to £999
One-off question banks start at £19.99 for 30 days (SQE1 Prep) and reach £999 for BARBRI's bank with four mocks. Most run until your sitting or for a fixed number of days, and none of these renews automatically. Question counts are each provider's own figure.
| Provider | Product | Price | Access | Questions (provider's figure) | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SQE1 Prep | 1-Month / Lifetime | £19.99 / £69.99 | 30 days, never renews / never expires | 4,400+ | 22 Oct |
| The One Hundred | Subject bank / Ultimate QB FLK1 and 2 | £29.98 / £305.99 | Not stated | Not stated | 21 Oct |
| Lawdojo | Complete, 30 days / to 22 January 2027 | £39 / £99 | 30 days / to 22 January 2027 | 2,415 | 22 Oct |
| Solon Prep | Chambers or Court / both | £89 each / £159 | Until your sitting | 5,000+ | 21 Oct |
| Law Drills | SQE1 Pro one FLK / Pro / Max | £115 / £195 / £395 (January 2027 sitting) | To your sitting; July 2027 prices higher; includes VAT | 61,500+ | 21 Oct |
| BARBRI | SQE1 Boost / Boost plus four mocks | £499 / £999 | From three months before your exam until it ends | 1,200+ | 22 Oct |
Monthly plans: £25 to £279 a month
Subscription plans charge £25 a month (ActusPrep Core) to £279 a month (FQPS Master), and renew until you cancel. Several offer a cheaper rate for three or six months paid together. Our own plans are in this table, marked.
| Provider | Plans | Monthly price | Longer terms (as stated) | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ActusPrep | Core / Pro | £25 / £35 | Pro: £85 for 3 months, £150 for 6 | 21 Oct |
| SQEase (our own product) | Core / Pro / Ultra | £30 / £50 / £80 | 3 months: £81 / £135 / £216; 6 months: £150 / £252 / £402. Web prices, no VAT added | 22 Oct |
| LexVerity | Standard / Premium | £34.99 / £49.99 | 3 months: £89 / £129 | 22 Oct |
| Kinnu Law | Kinnu Law | £48 | Not stated | 21 Oct |
| Barex | Self-Study | £50 | £125 every 3 months, £230 every 6 | 22 Oct |
| FQPS | Revision / Practice / Master | £79 / £129 / £279 | Monthly only, no minimum term; includes VAT | 22 Oct |
Past Paper Hero lists a $10 a month plan in US dollars only, so it is not in the sterling ranges. SQEase's prices above are for sqease.uk; prices in our iPhone app are set through Apple and include Apple's commission, so they are higher. SQEase does not add VAT because it is below the UK VAT registration threshold.
Mock exams on their own: £15 to £899
Stand-alone SQE1 mocks cost from £15 a test (SUPERexam) to £899 for BARBRI's four mocks. The price per mock varies with what a "mock" means: FQPS counts one FLK1 and one FLK2 paper as one mock, while Revise SQE sells each paper separately.
| Provider | Product | Price | Notes (as stated) | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SUPERexam | SQE1 MCQ mock test | from £15 a test | Per test | 21 Oct |
| FQPS | Mock packs | £29 (1) / £79 (3) / £139 (5) | Each mock is FLK1 and FLK2, each paper two sessions of 85; credits do not expire; includes VAT | 22 Oct |
| The One Hundred | FLK mock A, B or C / three-mock bundle | £29.98 each / £79.98 per FLK | £151.99 for both FLKs | 21 Oct |
| Revise SQE | Online FLK1 or FLK2 mock | £40 each, £70 both | Two attempts within six months; includes VAT | 21 Oct |
| Law Training Centre | SQE1 Just Mocks | £395 | No instalments | 21 Oct |
| BARBRI | SQE1 Mocks | £899 | Two FLK1 and two FLK2 mocks of 180 questions each | 22 Oct |
SQE1 apps on the App Store
SQE1 apps sell access as in-app purchases, from £4.99 a week to £99.99. The listings do not say whether each purchase is one-off or recurring, so check in the app before you buy. Prices are from the UK App Store on 21 October 2026.
- SQE1 Prep: FLK1 & FLK2: Unlimited Access £6.99 or £69.99.
- LearnSQE – FLK1 & FLK2: SQE1 Pro £12.99, £24.99 or £59.99; Pass Programme £99.99; weekly £4.99.
- SQE Question Bank (AntLaw): SQE1 Full £39.99; FLK1 or FLK2 £25 each.
- Kinnu – Exam Prep: monthly purchases from £15 to £48; the listing does not say which exam each covers.
Free ways to prepare
The SRA's own free material comes first: 220 sample questions and a demonstration of the exam software. The SRA's sample questions page has 90 original questions and 130 that were used in SQE1 assessments, published with the share of candidates who answered each correctly, in English and Welsh. The SRA says they are not designed to be a full mock exam. The same page links to a Pearson VUE demo of the exam interface.
Several providers also have free plans or free starter material (as published):
- SQE Samurai and SQE Daily are free in full: 240+ questions, and one question a day by email.
- Solon Prep: 400+ free questions, including a timed mock session for each FLK.
- FQPS: two free full mocks, one FLK1 and one FLK2, 340 questions in all.
- SQE1 Prep and SQEase: five questions a day on a free plan (SQEase adds 15 messages a day with its tutor, Lex).
- Lawdojo, LexVerity, Barex, ActusPrep and Law Drills: a diagnostic, a first section or topic of each subject, or a small number of question credits.
How to read these prices
Headline prices are hard to compare directly, because providers sell different things for different lengths of time. Five points matter most:
- One-off or monthly. A one-off price buys a fixed period, often to your sitting. A monthly plan renews until you cancel, so its cost depends on how many months you use it.
- Access length. "To your sitting", "30 days", "18 months" and "two sittings" are very different. If you might resit, check what happens after the first sitting.
- VAT. BPP, FQPS, Law Drills, Revise SQE and Law Training Centre (for self-funders) say their prices include VAT. SQEase charges none. Most other pages do not say.
- "From" prices. BARBRI's course prices are "starting at", and SUPERexam's mocks are "from". The final price can be higher.
- Mock format. From January 2027 each paper is two sessions of 85 questions, as our guide to the January 2027 changes explains. On 22 October, SQE1 Prep, FQPS, Barex and SQEase described mocks in that format. Lawdojo's page says its 180-question mocks predate the change, BARBRI's mocks page describes 180-question tests, and LexVerity's full-length papers are 180 questions. Practising at 85 questions trains the new 108-second pace.
Question counts, mock counts and AI features are each provider's own claims. We have not tested them, and a bigger number is not a measure of quality.
Offers and promotions
Promotions change quickly, so they are kept out of the tables above. These were shown on providers' pages on the dates given:
- Barex: code LAUNCH50, 50% off the first Self-Study billing period, until 22 December 2026 (22 Oct).
- FQPS: first SQE1 mock pack £9.99 instead of £29, once per account; free access until you pass if you prepared with FQPS for six months and did not pass at the first attempt (22 Oct).
- University of Law: repeat the Exam Preparation Course free up to twice if you do not pass at the first attempt; £250 alumni discount; half-price print manuals (22 Oct).
- College of Legal Practice: 10% off for its own GDL graduates (22 Oct).
- LexVerity: founding-member rates held while you stay subscribed (22 Oct).
- ActusPrep: code JAN27, 10% off until 31 October (21 Oct).
- Law Training Centre: an October enrolment saving of 10%, and scholarships (21 Oct).
- Solon Prep: next sitting free if you fail, and a 14-day refund (21 Oct).
QLTS School, BARBRI, BPP, SQE1 Prep and Lawdojo showed no promotion on the pages we re-checked on 22 October.
How we collected these prices
We read each provider's public pricing or product page on 21 October 2026, and the UK App Store listing for apps. On 22 October we re-read the ten most prominent providers (QLTS School, BARBRI, University of Law, BPP, College of Legal Practice, SQE1 Prep, FQPS, Barex, LexVerity and Lawdojo) and the SRA's fees page. Each table row shows which date applies. No standard price had changed between the two days.
The headline is the standard published price, keeping "from" or "starting at" where the provider uses it. We did not sign up, start a checkout or contact anyone. SQEase's row follows the same rule, from our public pricing page. Providers we could not price are left out rather than estimated.
Last checked: 22 October 2026. You are welcome to cite these tables with a link to this page. If a price has changed or we have something wrong, including for your own product, email hello@sqease.uk and we will correct it and note the change below.
How this was written: the SQEase team wrote this post with help from AI tools, and checked every price against the linked provider pages and every fee against the SRA's pages. This is study information, not financial or legal advice.
Disclosure: SQEase publishes this page and sells SQE1 practice plans, so we have a commercial interest in how candidates prepare. Our own prices are included and marked. This page does not rank, review or recommend any provider.

